April 2nd, 2017 -5th Sunday of Lent

March 22, 2017

hank-williams
I Saw the Light (Opening)
Music and Lyrics by Hank Williams

(E) I wandered so aimless, life filled with sin
(A) I wouldn’t let my dear Saviour in. (E)
Then Jesus came like a stranger in the night
(E) Praise the Lord, (B) I saw the (E) Light.

CHORUS
(E) I saw the Light, I saw the Light,
(A) No more darkness, no more night. (E)
(E) Now I’m so happy, no sorrow in sight,
(E) Praise the Lord, (B) I saw the (E) Light.

Just like the blind man, I wandered along,
Worries and fears, I claimed for my own.
Then like the blind man, that God, gave back his sight,
Praise the Lord, I saw the Light.

CHORUS

I was a fool to wander and stray,
For straight is the gate and narrow the way.
Now I have traded, the wrong for the right,
Praise the Lord, I saw the Light.

CHORUS


jamesweldons3612511

Dry Bones (In Between the Readings)
James Weldon Johnson (1871–1938).

(D) Ezekiel disconnected them dry bones,
(A7) Ezekiel disconnected them dry (D) bones,
Ezekiel in the Valley of Dry Bones,
Now hear the (A7) word of the (D) Lord.

Head bone (dis)connected from the neck bone
Neck bone connected from the shoulder bone
Shoulder bone connected from the back bone
Now hear the word of the Lord

Back bone connected to the hip bone
Hip bone connected to the thigh bone
Thigh bone connected to the knee bone
Now hear the word of the Lord

Chorus:

Them bones, them bones gonna rise again.
Them bones, them bones gonna rise again.
Them bones, them bones gonna rise again.
Now hear the word of the Lord.

Knee bone connected from the shin bone
Shin bone connected from the ankle bone
Ankle bone connected from the heel bone
Now hear the word of the Lord.

Heel bone connected from the foot bone
Foot bone connected from the toe bone
The toe bone connected from the …
Now hear the word of the Lord.

Them bones, them bones, them dry bones.
Them bones, them bones, them dry bones.
Them bones, them bones, them dry bones.
Now hear the word of the Lord.

Ezekiel disconnected them dry bones,
Ezekiel disconnected them dry bones,
Ezekiel in the Valley of Dry Bones,
Now hear the word of the Lord.

Roll Away the Stone (Offertory)
traditional

(D)There’s a burden in my soul I cannot (G) bear
Though I (D) know I’m the one who put it (A7) there
With every (D) wrong turn in my life it has (G) grown
Now I (D) ask you Lord to (A7) roll away the (D) stone

Chorus:
(D) Won’t You roll away the stone
And let the (G) light shine in on (D) me
Roll away the stone and let it (A7) be
(D) Roll away the stone
It’s so (G) dark I cannot (D) see
Roll away the (A7) stone and set me (D) free

I have heard of how they locked You in the ground
When from the cross, Joseph laid Your body down
Now just like You I cannot see the light of day
I need Your mighty strength to roll the stone away

Chorus

Lord let Your light shine in on me, it’ so dark I cannot see
Won’t You roll away the stone and set me free
Won’t You roll away the stone and set me free

Live Forever (Communion)
Billy Joe Shaver
I’m gonna live forever
I’m gonna cross that river
I’m gonna catch tomorrow now
You’re gonna wanna hold me
Just like I always told you
You’re gonna miss me when I’m gone

Nobody here will ever find me
But I always be around
Just like the songs I leave behind me
I’m gonna live forever now

You fathers and you mothers
Be good to one another
Please try to raise your children right
Don’t let the darkness take ’em
Don’t make ’em feel forsaken
Just lead them safely to the light

When this old world has blown us under
And all the stars from fall this sky
Remember someone really loves you
We’ll live forever you and I

I’m gonna live forever
I’m gonna cross that river
I’m gonna catch tomorrow now
I’m gonna live forever
I’m gonna cross that river
I’m gonna catch tomorrow now


When The Roll Is Called Up Yonder (Closing Hymn)
James M. BlackWhen the (G) trumpet of the Lord shall sound, and (C) time shall be no more, (G)
And the morning breaks, eternal, bright and fair; (D)
When the (G) saved of earth shall gather (C) over on the other shore, (G)
And the roll is called up (D7) yonder, I’ll be there. (G)

CHORUS
(G) When the roll is called up yonder,
When the (D7) roll is called up yonder,
When the (G) roll is called up (C) yonder,
When the (G) roll is called up (D7) yonder, I’ll be there. (G)

On that bright and cloudless morning when the dead in Christ shall rise,
And the glory of His resurrection share;
When His chosen ones shall gather to their home beyond the skies,
And the roll is called up yonder, I’ll be there.

CHORUS

Let us labor for the Master from the dawn till setting sun,
Let us talk of all His wondrous love and care;
Then when all of life is over, and our work on earth is done,
And the roll is called up yonder, I’ll be there.

CHORUS

~

Hope to see you on Sunday, dressed down and ready to sing out!
-Jonathan

Leave a Reply

