February 5th, 2017

January 30, 2017

Your Light From the Lighthouse // Opening

arr: Blind Willie Johnson
cho: (G) Let it shine on, (C) let it shine on,
Let your (G) light from the lighthouse (A7)shine on (D) me,
Let it (G) shine on, let it (C) shine on,
Let your (G) light from the lighthouse (D7) shine on (G) me,

My (G) Lord he done just (C) what he said
Let your (G) light from the lighthouse (A7) shine on (D) me,
He (G) healed the sick and he (C)  raised the dead
Let your (G) light from the lighthouse (D7) shine on (G) me,

I know I got religion and I ain’t ashamed
Let your light from the lighthouse shine on me,
Angels in heaven gonna call my name
Let your light from the lighthouse shine on me,

One of these days, ’bout twelve o’clock
Let your light from the lighthouse shine on me,
This ol’ world gonna reel and rock
Let your light from the lighthouse shine on me,

By The Side of The Road // Between Songs)
Mac Wiseman

(E A B) or capo 2 (D G A)
Verse
(E) Now people who would rather live in splendor
(A) Brag about their silver and their gold
(E) People who would trade God’s promise
For its (B) treasure to hold

(E) Now people who would rather live in mansions
(A) People who would rather live abroad
(E) But I’d rather have a little log cabin
By the (B) side of the (E) road

Chorus
(E) I’d rather live by the side of the (E7) road
And try to point (A) souls to the heavenly (E) cross
Than to be a king or millionaire
And live in  mansions and (B) bright (E) array

(E) I’d rather do my neighborly (E7) deed
Or help some (A) traveler or a friend in (E) need
I’d rather live by the side of the road
And help some pilgrim (B) along life’s (E) way

Verse
I’d rather have a cabin by the roadside
Where the pilgrim along life’s way
Help to point souls to Jesus to that city on high
Every day I want to help scatter roses
Every night I want my light to shine abroad
With a welcome from my little bay wind
By the side of the road

Chorus
(E) I’d rather live by the side of the (E7) road
And try to point (A) souls to the heavenly (E) cross
Than to be a king or millionaire
And live in  mansions and (B) bright (E) array

(E) I’d rather do my neighborly (E7) deed
Or help some (A) traveler or a friend in (E) need
I’d rather live by the side of the road
And help some pilgrim (B) along life’s (E) way

Wayfaring Stranger // Offertory
arr. Emmy Lou Harris / Ricky Scaggs
I am a (Am) poor wayfaring stranger,
While traveling (Dm) through this world of woe. (Am)
Yet there’s no sickness, toil nor danger
In that bright (Dm) world to which I go.
(Am)
I’m going there (F) to see my Father (C);
I’m going there (F) no more to roam. (E)

CHORUS:
I’m only (Am) going over Jordan,
I’m only (Dm) going over (Am) home.

I know dark clouds will gather round me;
I know my way is rough and steep.
But golden fields lie out before me
Where God’s redeemed shall ever sleep.
I’m going there to see my mother,
She said she’d meet me when I come.

CHORUS

I’ll soon be free from every trial,
My body sleep in the churchyard;
I’ll drop the cross of self denial
And enter on my great reward.
I’m going there to see my Savior,
To sing His praise forevermore.

CHORUS

Breaking Bread // Communion
-Johnny Cash

(C) Breakin bread
Breakin (Am) bread
we are (F) gathered here (G) together to break (C) bread
(C) Breakin bread
Breakin (Am) bread
we are (F) gathered here (G) together to break (C) bread

it’s not the (G) barely or the (C) wheat
it’s not the (F) oven or the (G) heat
that makes this bread this so good to (C) eat
it’s the (F) needing and the sharing that (Dm) makes the meal (G) complete (G7)

(C) Breakin bread
Breakin (Am) bread
we are (F) gathered here (G) together to break (C) bread
(C) Breakin bread
Breakin (Am) bread
we are (F) gathered here (G) together to break (C) bread

upon the water bread is cast
the last is first the first is last
for everyone who eats this bread
there are thousands maybe more that will be fed

(C) Breakin bread
Breakin (Am) bread
we are (F) gathered here (G) together to break (C) bread
(C) Breakin bread
Breakin (Am) bread
we are (F) gathered here (G) together to break (C) bread

 
This Little Light of Mine
 // Closing
Harry Dixon Loe, adapted by J. Vassar

This (G)little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine
(C)This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine (G)
(G)This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine
Every day, every day (D), every day,(C) every day(G)
Gonna let my little (D) light shine (G)

On Monday he gave me the gift of love
I’m gonna let it shine
On Tuesday peace came from above
I’m gonna let it shine
oh this little light of mine
i’m gonna let it shine
Every day every day every day every day
Gonna let my little light shine

On Wednesday told me to have more faith
I’m gonna let it shine,
On Thursday gave me a little grace
I’m gonna let it shine
oh this little light of mine
i’m gonna let it shine
Every day every day every day every day
Gonna let my little light shine

Friday told me to watch and pray
I’m gonna let it shine
On Saturday told me just what to say
I’m gonna let it shine
On Sunday gave me the power divine
i’m gonna let it shine
the power
to let my little light shine

This little light of mine/I’m gonna let it shine
This little light of mine/I’m gonna let it shine
This little light of mine/I’m gonna let it shine
Every day every day every day every day
Gonna let my little light shine

Leave a Reply

