January 1st, 2017 // Odetta Mass

December 16, 2016

Go Tell it on the Mountain // Opening
arr. Odetta Holmes
(C) go, tell it on the mountain
(G) over the hills and everywhere
(C) go, tell it on the mountain
that jesus (G) christ is (C) born

while (C) shepherds kept their watching
over silent (F) flocks by (C) night
behold throughout the heavens
there shone a (G) holy (C) light

go, tell it on the mountain
over the hills and everywhere
go, tell it on the mountain
that jesus christ is born

the shepherds feared and trembled
when lo! above the earth
rang out the angels chorus
that hailed the savior’s birth

go, tell it on the mountain
over the hills and everywhere
go, tell it on the mountain
that jesus christ is born

down in a lowly manger
the humble christ was born
and god sent us salvation
that blessèd christmas morn’

go, tell it on the mountain
over the hills and everywhere
go, tell it on the mountain
that jesus christ is born.

Somebody’s Talking About Jesus // In between the Readings
arr. Odetta Holmes
Em
Everywhere I go
Am
Everywhere I go my lord
Em
Everywhere I go
Somebody’s talking about (D) Jesus (Em)

(Em) turned away mary and joseph from the inn
Somebody’s talking about (D) Jesus

Everywhere I go
Everywhere I go my lord
Everywhere I go
Somebody’s talking about Jesus

Baby born in Bethelehem
Somebody’s talking about Jesus

Everywhere I go
Everywhere I go my lord
Everywhere I go
Somebody’s talking about Jesus

born born by Virgin Mary
Somebody’s talking about Jesus

Everywhere I go
Everywhere I go my lord
Everywhere I go
Somebody’s talking about Jesus

born born on Christmas morn
somebody’s talking about Jesus

Everywhere I go
Everywhere I go my lord
Everywhere I go
Somebody’s talking about Jesus

Glory be to the newborn baby
somebody’s talking about Jesus

Everywhere I go
Everywhere I go my lord
Everywhere I go
Somebody’s talking about Jesus

Everywhere I go
Everywhere I go my lord
Everywhere I go
Somebody’s talking about Jesus
Somebody’s talking about Jesus

Ain’t That A-Rocking // Offertory
arr. Odetta Holmes
(C) Mary had a (F) little (C) baby
Wrapped in swaddling (Am) clothes
(C) Every time the little (F) baby (C)cried
She’d rock him in a  (G) weary (C) land

[Chorus]
(C)Ain’t that a-rockin’ all (Am)night
(F) Ain’t that a-rockin’ (G) allnight
(C) Ain’ that a-rockin (Am) allnight
(C) all (G) night (C) long

All night long

Wise men came from the East
Guided by a star
With gold, myrrh and frankincense
While she rocked him in a weary land

Chorus

Herod heard the news
The baby he did seek
The Lord told Mary
Just you rock him in a weary land

Chorus

Beautiful Star // Communion
arr. Odetta Holmes

(F) Beautiful star (Bbm Dm G), (F) bright morning star (Bbm Dm C)
Beautiful star, my Lord
Star in the East

(F) Although you (Bbm) see me (Dm) going (C) on
(F) Oh watch the (Bbm) stars, (F) see how they (Bbm) run
(F) I have my (Bbm) trials (Dm) here (C) below, (F) see how they run (Bbm)
(F) Oh watch the (Bbm) stars, (F) see how they run (Bbm) (2x)
The (F) stars come (Bbm) down at the (Dm) setting of the (C) sun
Oh (F) watch the (Bbm) stars, (F) see how they run
(F) Although you (Bbm) see me (Dm) going (C) on
(F) Oh watch the (Bbm)  stars, (F) see how they run
I  (F) have my (Bbm) trials (Dm) here (C) below, (F) see how they run
The (F) stars come down (Bbm) at the (Dm) setting of the (Bb) sun
Oh (F) watch the (Bbm) stars, (F) see how they run

Children, Go Where I send Thee // Closing
arr. Odetta Holmes

(D)
Children go where I send Thee (Oh lordy)
How will I send thee
Oh I’m gonna send thee one by one
For one was a little bitty baby
born,
Children born in Bethlehem

Children go where I send Thee (Oh lordy)
How will I send thee
Oh I’m gonna send thee two by two
for Two was Paul and Silas
one was a little bitty baby
born,
Children born in Bethlehem

Children go where I send Thee (Oh lordy)
How will I send thee
Oh I’m gonna send thee three by three
for three was the Hebrew children
Two was Paul and Silas
one was a little bitty baby born,
Children born in Bethlehem

Children go where I send Thee (Oh lordy)
How will I send thee
Oh I’m gonna send thee four by four
for the four was the four that stood at the door
Three was the Hebrew children
Two was Paul and Silas
one was a little bitty baby
born,
Children born in Bethlehem

Children go where I send Thee (Oh lordy)
How will I send thee
Oh I’m gonna send thee ten by ten
for the ten for the ten commandments
Nine was the nine that stood in the line
Eight was the eight that waited at the gate
Seven was the seven that never got to heaven
Six was the six that didn’t get picked
(oh my Lord)
Five was the five that came back alive
four was the four that stood at the door
three was the Hebrew children
two was Paul and Silas
one was a little bitty baby born,
Children born in Bethlehem

Leave a Reply

