Sunday September 4th, 2016

August 29, 2016

Working on a Building (Opening Hymn)
traditional, adapted by Bill Monroe

CHORUS
I’m a working on building (3x)
For my Lord, for my Lord
It’s a Holy Ghost building (3x)
For my Lord, for my Lord

If I was a gambler, I tell you what I’d do
I’d quit my gambling and I’d work on the building, too

CHORUS

If I was a drunkard I tell you what I would do
I’d quit my drinking and I’d work on the building too

CHORUS

If I was a preacher I tell you what I would do
I would keep on preaching and work on the building too

CHORUS

There’s A Higher Power
Louvin Brothers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sunO2hmFoUY

(G) When burdens seem to overcome there’s a higher power
Who’s faithful and refuses none (D7) there’s a higher (G) power

Then (G) why ask men to help you through there’s a higher power
They’re helpless pilgrims just like you (D7) there’s a higher (G) power

chorus

So (G) sing and shout walk and talk there’s a higher power
Lay down your soul cause Jesus bought it (D7) there’s a higher (G) power
Amen amen amen amen there’s a higher power
Amen amen amen amen (D7) there’s a higher (G) power

Oh go tell people lost in sin there’s a higher power
They need not fear the works of men there’s a higher power
Believe in him to rest on high there’s a higher power
Unless they do they’ll surely die there’s a higher power

Repeat #2

Those men have built these mighty guns there’s a higher power
They’ve built these automobiles that run there’s a higher power
But brothers and sisters mark this down there’s a higher power
They can’t build you no heavenly crown there’s a higher power

The Old Cross Roads (Offertory)
Bill Monroe
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IYlFfVM_yV8

(G) O my brother take this warning
Don’t let old (D7) Satan hold your (G)hand
You’ll be lost in sin forever
You’ll never (D7) reach the Promised (G) Land

(G) The Old Crossroads is waiting
Which one are you (D7) going to (G) take
(G) One leads down to destruction
the other (D7)to the Pearly (G) Gate

(G) One road leads up to Heaven
The other one (D7) goes down (G) below
(G) Jesus our Savior will protect you
He’ll guide you (D7) by the old cross (G) road

(G) The Old Crossroads is waiting
Which one are you (D7) going to (G) take
(G) One leads down to destruction
the other (D7)to the Pearly (G) Gate

Soon your life will be over
You’ll have to face the old crossroads
Will you be ready then my brother
To shun the one that goes down below

(G) The Old Crossroads is waiting
Which one are you (D7) going to (G) take
(G) One leads down to destruction
the other (D7)to the Pearly (G) Gate

Hold to God’s Unchanging Hand (Communion)
Jennie Wilson and F.L. Eiland

 

(D) Time is filled with swift transition,
Naught of earth unmoved can (A) stand,
(D) Build your hopes on things eternal, (Bm)
(D) Hold to God’s unchang(A)ing hand. (D)

CHORUS
(D) Hold to God’s unchanging hand,
Hold to God’s unchanging (A) hand;
(D) Build your hopes on things eternal, (Bm)
(D) Hold to God’s (A) unchanging hand. (D)

Trust in Him who will not leave you,
Whatsoever years may bring,
If by earthly friends forsaken
Still more closely to Him cling.

CHORUS

Covet not this world’s vain riches
That so rapidly decay,
Seek to gain the heav’nly treasures,
They will never pass away.

CHORUS

When your journey is completed,
If to God you have been true,
Fair and bright the home in glory
Your enraptured soul will view.

Working on a Road (Offertory)
arr. Flatt and Scruggs

CHORUS:
(E) I’m working on the road ( I’m working on the road )
That leads to glory ( that leads to glory )
I want to shake My Saviour’s (B7) hand ( my Saviour’s hand )
I’m building my (E) hope ( I’m building my hope )
On things eternal ( on the things eternal )
I’m working on the road ( I’m working on the road )
To (B7) glory (E) land

(E) Each day I get so lonely while (A) living here (E) below
My Savior’s waiting patiently (F#7) I’m planning now to (B7) go
I (E) want a firm foundation that’s (A) due to God’s own (E) hand
That’s why I started building a (B7) road to glory (E) land

CHORUS

Oh listen to me sinners don’t you wan’t to go
You know we have no promise of living here below
You know he suffered for our sins and died upon the cross
For all who did believe on him their souls will not be lost

CHORUS

And when this road is finished I want to travel on
I can hear the angels singing up there around the throne
I want to see my mother and take her by the hand
As soon as I have finished the road to glory land

Leave a Reply

