July 3rd, 2016 // In Remembrance of Dr. Ralph Stanley

June 27, 2016

Shouting on The Hills of Glory // Opening
Stanley Brothers

Chorus:
(G) There’ll be shouting on the hills of glory
(D7) Shouting on the hills (C) shouting on the (G) hills
There’ll be shouting on the hills of glory
There’ll be shouting on the (D7) hills of (G) God

instrumental

(G) Oh what a blessed reunion
(D7) Oh what a blessed (G) reunion
When we’re gathered together over yonder
There’ll be shouting on the (D7)  hills of (G) God

chorus
instrumental

No more sorrow in that city
No more sorrow in that city
there’s a prepared place in Heaven
There’ll be shouting on the hills of God

chorus
instrumental

Now’s the time to make your preparations
Now’s the time to make preparations
So stop and make your reservation
There’ll be shouting on the hills of God

chorus

Chorus:
(G) There’ll be shouting on the hills of glory
(D7) Shouting on the hills (C) shouting on the (G) hills
There’ll be shouting on the hills of glory
There’ll be shouting on the (D7) hills of (G) God

Rank Strangers // Between the Readings
Albert E. Brumely // arr. Stanely Brothers

I wandered again to my home in the mountain
Where in youths early dawn I was happy and free
I looked for my friends but I never could find them
I found they were all rank strangers to me

Everybody I met seemed to be a rank stranger
No mother no dad not a friend I could see
They knew not my name and I knew not their faces
I found they were all rank strangers to me

They’ve moved all away said the voice of a stranger
To a beautiful home by the bright crystal sea
Some beautiful day I’ll meet them in heaven
Where no one will be a stranger to me

The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn // Offertory
Ralph Stanley

The sun is slowly sinkin’
The day’s almost gone
Still darkness falls around us
And we must journey on

The darkest hour is just before dawn
The narrow way leads home
Lay down your soul at Jesus’ feet
The darkest hour is just before dawn

Like a shepherd out on the mountain
A-watchin’ the sheep down below
He’s coming back to claim us
Will you be ready to go

The darkest hour is just before dawn
The narrow way leads home
Lay down your soul
Let Jesus in
The darkest hour is just before dawn
The darkest hour is just before dawn

Angel Band // Communion
Stanely Brothers
My (G) latest sun is (C) sinking fast (G)
My race is (D7)nearly run (G)
My (G) longest trials (C) now are past (G)
My triumph (D7) has begun (G)
CHORUS
(D7) Oh come (G) angel band
(D7) Come and (G) around me stand
(C) Bear me away on your (G) snow white wings
To (D7) my immortal home (G)
(C) Bear me away on you (G) snow white wings
To (D7) my immortal home (G)

Oh bear my longing soul to him
Who bled and died for me
Whose blood now cleanses from all sins
And brings me victory
CHORUS
I know I’m near the holy ranks
Of friends and kindred dear
I brush the dew on Jordan’s banks
The crossing must be near
CHORUS
I’ve almost gained my heavenly home
My spirit loudly sings
The holy ones, behold they come
I hear the noise of wings
CHORUS 

I’ll Fly Away //Closing Hymn
Albert E. Brumely // arr. Stanley Brothers

(F) Some glad morning when this life is o’er,
(Bb) I’ll fly  (F) away;
To a home on God’s celestial shore,
I’ll (C7) fly (F) away.

CHORUS:
I’ll fly away, oh glory
I’ll fly away;
when I die, hallelujah, by and by,
I’ll fly away.

When the shadows of this life have grown,
I’ll fly away;
Like a bird from prison bars has flown,
I’ll fly away.

CHORUS

Just a few more weary days and then,
I’ll fly away;
to a land where joys shall never end,
I’ll fly away.

CHORUS

 

Leave a Reply

