April 6th, 2014

March 22, 2014

 

Then after this he said to the disciples, “Let us go to Judea again.” The disciples said to him, “Rabbi, the Jews were just now trying to stone you, and are you going there again?” Jesus answered, “Are there not twelve hours of daylight? Those who walk during the day do not stumble, because they see the light of this world. But those who walk at night stumble, because the light is not in them.” After saying this, he told them, “Our friend Lazarus has fallen asleep, but I am going there to awaken him.


hank-williams

I Saw the Light (Opening)
Music and Lyrics by Hank Williams

(E) I wandered so aimless, life filled with sin
(A) I wouldn’t let my dear Saviour in. (E)
Then Jesus came like a stranger in the night
(E) Praise the Lord, (B) I saw the (E) Light.

CHORUS
(E) I saw the Light, I saw the Light,
(A) No more darkness, no more night. (E)
(E) Now I’m so happy, no sorrow in sight,
(E) Praise the Lord, (B) I saw the (E) Light.

Just like the blind man, I wandered along,
Worries and fears, I claimed for my own.
Then like the blind man, that God, gave back his sight,
Praise the Lord, I saw the Light.

CHORUS

I was a fool to wander and stray,
For straight is the gate and narrow the way.
Now I have traded, the wrong for the right,
Praise the Lord, I saw the Light.

CHORUS

Ezekiel 37:1-14

The hand of the Lord came upon me, and he brought me out by the spirit of the Lord and set me down in the middle of a valley; it was full of bones. He led me all around them; there were very many lying in the valley, and they were very dry. He said to me, “Mortal, can these bones live?” I answered, “O Lord GOD, you know.” Then he said to me, “Prophesy to these bones, and say to them: O dry bones, hear the word of the Lord. Thus says the Lord GOD to these bones: I will cause breath to enter you, and you shall live. I will lay sinews on you, and will cause flesh to come upon you, and cover you with skin, and put breath in you, and you shall live; and you shall know that I am the Lord.”

So I prophesied as I had been commanded; and as I prophesied, suddenly there was a noise, a rattling, and the bones came together, bone to its bone. I looked, and there were sinews on them, and flesh had come upon them, and skin had covered them; but there was no breath in them. Then he said to me, “Prophesy to the breath, prophesy, mortal, and say to the breath: Thus says the Lord GOD: Come from the four winds, O breath, and breathe upon these slain, that they may live.” I prophesied as he commanded me, and the breath came into them, and they lived, and stood on their feet, a vast multitude.

Then he said to me, “Mortal, these bones are the whole house of Israel. They say, `Our bones are dried up, and our hope is lost; we are cut off completely.’ Therefore prophesy, and say to them, Thus says the Lord GOD: I am going to open your graves, and bring you up from your graves, O my people; and I will bring you back to the land of Israel. And you shall know that I am the Lord, when I open your graves, and bring you up from your graves, O my people. I will put my spirit within you, and you shall live, and I will place you on your own soil; then you shall know that I, the Lord, have spoken and will act,” says the Lord.

jamesweldons3612511

Dry Bones (In Between the Readings)
James Weldon Johnson (1871–1938).

(D) Ezekiel disconnected them dry bones,
(A7) Ezekiel disconnected them dry (D) bones,
Ezekiel in the Valley of Dry Bones,
Now hear the (A7) word of the (D) Lord.

Head bone (dis)connected from the neck bone
Neck bone connected from the shoulder bone
Shoulder bone connected from the back bone
Now hear the word of the Lord

Back bone connected to the hip bone
Hip bone connected to the thigh bone
Thigh bone connected to the knee bone
Now hear the word of the Lord

Chorus

Chorus:

Them bones, them bones gonna rise again.
Them bones, them bones gonna rise again.
Them bones, them bones gonna rise again.
Now hear the word of the Lord.

Knee bone connected from the shin bone
Shin bone connected from the ankle bone
Ankle bone connected from the heel bone
Now hear the word of the Lord.

Heel bone connected from the foot bone
Foot bone connected from the toe bone
The toe bone connected from the …
Now hear the word of the Lord.

Them bones, them bones, them dry bones.
Them bones, them bones, them dry bones.
Them bones, them bones, them dry bones.
Now hear the word of the Lord.

Ezekiel disconnected them dry bones,
Ezekiel disconnected them dry bones,
Ezekiel in the Valley of Dry Bones,
Now hear the word of the Lord.

Mott_the_Hoople_(1974)
(Mott the Hoople never sang this song)

Roll Away the Stone (Offertory)
traditional

(D)There’s a burden in my soul I cannot (G) bear
Though I (D) know I’m the one who put it (A7) there
With every (D) wrong turn in my life it has (G) grown
Now I (D) ask you Lord to (A7) roll away the (D) stone

Chorus:
(D) Won’t You roll away the stone
And let the (G) light shine in on (D) me
Roll away the stone and let it (A7) be
(D) Roll away the stone
It’s so (G) dark I cannot (D) see
Roll away the (A7) stone and set me (D) free

I have heard of how they locked You in the ground
When from the cross, Joseph laid Your body down
Now just like You I cannot see the light of day
I need Your mighty strength to roll the stone away

Chorus

Lord let Your light shine in on me, it’ so dark I cannot see
Won’t You roll away the stone and set me free
Won’t You roll away the stone and set me free

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fmBqIlXUo2A

Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord)? (Communion)

Were you (C) there when they (G) crucified my (C)) Lord?
Were you (C) there when they (Am) crucified my (G) Lord?
(C) Oh! Sometimes it causes me to (F) tremble, (Fm) tremble, (C) tremble
Were you there when they (G) crucified my (C)  Lord?

Were you there when they nailed him to the tree…
Were you there when they pierced him in the side…
Were you there when the sun refused to shine…
Were you there when they laid him i the tomb…
Were you there when the stone was rolled away…
Were you there when he rose up in the

Deliverance Will Come (Closing)
John B. Matthias

I (E) saw a wayworn traveler, in (B) tattered garments clad, (E)
And struggling up the mountain, it seemed that (B) he was sad (E);
His back was laden heavy, his (B) strength was almost (E) gone,
Yet he shouted as he journeyed, “Deliver(B)ance will (E) come!”

CHORUS

(E) Then palms of victory, (B) crowns of (E) glory,
Palms of victory (B) I shall wear. (E)
The summer sun was shining, the sweat was on his brow,
His garments worn and dusty, his step seemed very slow;
But he kept pressing onward, for he was wending home,
Still shouting as he journeyed, “Deliverance will come!”

CHORUS

The songsters in the arbor that stood beside the way
Attracted his attention, inviting his delay:
His watchword being “Onward!” he stopped his ears and ran,
Still shouting as he journeyed, “Deliverance will come!”

CHORUS

I saw him in the evening; the sun was bending low;
He’d overtopped the mountain, and reached the vale below:
He saw the Golden City—his everlasting home—
And shouted loud, “Hosanna! Deliverance will come!”

CHORUS

While gazing on that city, just o’er the narrow flood,
A band of holy angels came from the throne of God;
They bore him on their pinions safe o’er the dashing foam,
And joined him in his triumph: Deliverance had come!

CHORUS

I heard the song of triumph they sang upon that shore,
Saying, “Jesus has redeemed us to suffer nevermore!”
Then casting his eyes backward on the race which he had run,
He shouted loud, “Hosanna! Deliverance has come!”

CHORUS

~

Hope to see you on Sunday, dressed down and ready to sing out!
-Jonathan

Leave a Reply

